CoolChaser Blog

A dose of insight from Seth Sternberg…

Posted on: September 24, 2006

This week I’ve enjoyed glowing encouragement from users and mentors… But a refreshingly critical conversation Seth Sternberg of Meebo stands out as one of the more constructive chats I’ve had in a while. Here’s some background, but more importantly, I hope this blog may lead to even more tough input like Seth’s.. comment away!!!
About eight months ago, Seth left Stanford GSB to pursue Meebo full time. He was just a few months and a handful of credits shy of graduating. Many classmates (and some renowned prof’s) thought he was crazy. He quickly proved folks wrong. Soon Seth and team won over Sequoia, and in just a few months they’ve fostered the fastest growing and most passionate IM communities I’ve seen since Skype.

Seth and i have exchanged a few email threads over the past year, but mostly along the personal context of entrepreneurship while at the GSB. This week, I finally had the opportunity to show Seth what we’ve been working on.

Seth was fairly critical about the concept of social search, but agreed with our general idea behind “searching together”.. We dove into a mini-demo, and Seth dished out a healthy dose of critical advice:

  • Vision simplicity: Seth patiently let me describe our search community… and then he laid into me… “that is way too complex – do you really expect an average person to get that?!”
  • Feature simplicity: Seth questioned why certain stuff was on our pages.. “do you REALLY need that text there?” he quizzed… He gave example of at meebo they found that the ‘Send’ button on IM clients was used ~1% of the time (people just use ‘Enter’ on their keyboard), so they took it out. He referred to Google as another example: Despite their growing portfolio of major products, Google has shown relative restraint in not pushing their other properties by cluttering their SERP.. (though maybe still not enough restraint?)
  • The Two shot chance: Seth commented that he felt every new web product has two shots at getting “blogger buzz”..after that, the product and community must to carry and spread itself.
4 Responses to "A dose of insight from Seth Sternberg…"

Thank you SOOO much for sharing! I have to agree… people don’t understand what is going on and have to see the value VERY easily. That said… did Seth say how Meebo was going to make money? 🙂

Sweet insight from Seth there. When I told John that I really did not know how to use the website, he thought I was joking. Well even though I’m into tech and all that, I still prefer simple interfaces. I also talked about the tab-enter function. When I type my login, I use the tab button and then enter my passwd, but after that, I just want to push the enter button rather than use the tab key or the mouse to push enter. Still, I’m unable to do this. When I push enter after entering my password, nothing happens. It baffles me and it causes itches in my cranium. Seth is right.

O.O.

The best website I visited yet, guidingvoices.wordpress.com you rule

here are a few words of chaos:
You are not right. I am assured. Write to me in PM, we will discuss.

We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful
to you.

Leave a Reply

