CoolChaser Blog

So what do you think about the change?

Posted on: September 13, 2006

It’s been couple of days now since the change. Do you like it? Do you not like it?

No, I’m not talking about my new hairstyle honey, I’m talking about the search results rankings moved to the left from the right! So? Do you think it’s better or worse? For those who joined the alpha recently and for those who can’t recall how it looked before, here’s a screenshot from BEFORE.
Kikwi before
My thoughts below.

pros:

  • It’s easier to compare the engines and really shows the meta value (if you don’t know what meta means don’t worry because I didn’t either until a month and a half ago but it means it aggregates all the results from multiple search engines… I think)

cons:

  • Harder to scan the result titles because of the extra columns on the left.
  • High (or higher) learning curve -> OMG! I don’t know what I’m looking at.. because this is so different from Google!

High learning curve has to do also with all the up and down arrows, avatars, the grids, the frames… yes I do realize that. That is why this experiment was an especially scary one because I was very careful not to break too much of the conventions such as the colors – blue for the title, black for the summary text, green for the url.

But I am already breaking the convention big time by using a table to compare the results which none of the other meta search engines did. I wasn’t sure if it would work and was also paranoid that maybe there was a reason other meta search engines did not do it this way: they don’t want to look too different from the conventional engines.

You could argue that I’m breaking the convention anyway so might as well do it all the way, but changing the rankings from the right to the left was like jumping off a cliff for me. It was scary. Thus I haven’t changed the grey box pointing still to the right column. :p

Any comments? My husband will say “yes, honey it looks great!” without lifting his head up….

6 Responses to "So what do you think about the change?"

Nice post, Sachiko!

I actually don’t find it harder to scan the results. But now that I see the ranking first, I kind of want to see the number one results from G,Y,M as icons. What do you think?

Oh wow~ I guess I might have been the only one who was so scared to move the rankings to the left. I couldn’t even sleep well the night before 😀 Yeah, I think it will be really cool if we can add like a crown icon or something huh? Then it will even more show the meta value. Might as well use the rankings on the left to the fullest!

Agreed. I was thinking about some way of visually demonstrating the individual weights placed by the engines. I thought of maybe slightly larger, darker, and more bold text for #1 and scaling down to smaller, lighter text at the bottom. Either way, you HAVE to get rid of the huge “—” for no ranking.

Hey Erik, one at a time! 😀 No just joking! The — is indeed huger on the left! Leaving it blank will not work so maybe I’ll use a – instead of &mdash.. before &ndash did’t center correctly though.. or maybe I’ll make the dash color grey 🙂 The number getting lighter is a fun idea but I think by the time you reach 10 it will be #FEFEFE! But again, thanks for the feedback. You’re the best. (next to Jeffrey)

Dave

Interesting topic… I’m working in this industry myself and I don’t agree about this in 100%, but I added your page to my bookmarks and hope to see more interesting articles in the future

Leave a Reply

Looking for MySpace stuff?



If you are looking for MySpace 1.0 layouts, MySpace 2.0 layouts, and MySpace blog layouts, visit CoolChaser.com!

You can create your own original layout in a snap!
September 2006
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
